NCEJN Community Resilience Award

Nominations for the NCEJN Community Resilience Award (.pdf of form linked here) will be accepted through October 1, 2018

Please send a letter of nomination and any supporting materials via email to:

NCEJN EJ Summit Coordinators
Email (preferred):
Mail: P.O. Box 68, Rocky Mount, NC 27802

Overview The Community Resilience Award is designed to give the North Carolina Environmental Justice Network (NCEJN) the opportunity to spotlight community groups and individuals who have made a difference in environmental struggles. Past recipients include: David Caldwell 2014, Belinda Joyner 2015; Macy Hinson, 2016; Devon Hall & REACH, 2016; Ellis Tatum, 2017.

Call for Nominations 
Please take a few moments to send us your recommendation so that we can recognize those who help us fulfill our mission of environmental justice. Nominations for the NCEJN Community Resilience Award [pdf with additional details coming soon (pdf)] will be accepted through October 1, 2018. Recipients will be announced at the Summit, and if in attendance will receive special recognition.

Qualifications for Nominees

  • A community individual or community group currently working on an environmental injustice issue
  • Showing commitment for a safe and healthy environment for the community
  • Unselfishly giving to create a more just society
  • Working for political and social reform
  • Constantly using activism and organizing in the community to achieve environmental justice

Nomination Procedures While there are no set guidelines for a nomination, a winning nomination should fulfill the qualifications listed above. Nominations should be sent to the NCEJN EJ Summit Coordinators, as specified below. Nominations will be accepted until October 1, 2018. The EJ Summit Coordinators will distribute copies of the nominations to the NCEJN Planning Committee. The committee will acknowledge nominations received, notify recipients, and communicate the selection process outcome to all nominees. Email submission is preferred.

The Award Presentation 
The annual award is presented at the NCEJN Summit, held this year on October 19th and 20th in Whitakers, North Carolina.